It’s all downhill from here – Philippians 1:21-23

birthday_cakeTomorrow, God willing, I will celebrate my 45th birthday. There is no way to pretend that I am not old. I have been a father for half of my life now! And actuarial tables tell me that my life expectancy from here on out is only 34 more years. Thus 57% of my life is now in the rear view mirror (statistically speaking).

While that may all sound depressing, I am not depressed by all of that. As the number of candles on the birthday cake increases it simply means I am that much closer to being with Christ. As the Apostle Paul wrote:

For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better (Philippians 1:21-23).

In the meantime, I can only hope that “Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death (Philippians 1:20) while I enjoy the life and family the good Lord has granted to me.

Comments Off on It’s all downhill from here – Philippians 1:21-23

Filed under Christian Life

Comments are closed.