The heavens declare – Psalm 50:6

I love lightning. Driving in to work last week, I was treated to an awesome lightning display on the eastern horizon. The contrast of the soft, early morning light with the dark clouds and the lightning made for a spectacular view which reminded me, naturally, of Psalm 19:1:

The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork (Psalm 19:1).

My little children currently do not share my love for lightning. Every thunder-clap brings them frantically scurrying inside in fear. The same lightning which makes me joyful causes them great fear.

The heavens above declare the glory of God. Amen! But, the Bible also tells us that the heavens should be a reminder to us that God is a righteous judge:

The heavens declare his righteousness, for God himself is judge! (Psalm 50:6).

lightening2All of us will one day stand before that judge. Just as the same lightning causes two vastly different reactions between my children and me, there will be two reactions on the day of judgment. Those who are in Christ Jesus will rejoice in the great salvation provided by our glorious God. Those who are not will try to hide in fear and wish that the mountains could fall upon them and hide them from the face of God and his wrath (Revelation 6:16-17).

So, the next time you see lightning in the sky, I hope you think of the coming judgment of God. You do not know when or where it will strike in your life, but it is coming. Are you ready?

Comments Off on The heavens declare – Psalm 50:6

Filed under Judgment

Comments are closed.