Who are you fooling? – Luke 12:2

Last week I was out walking around my neighborhood with my little kids while they rode their bikes. At one clearing I could see to the next street where two police officers were walking a young man to their patrol car. The young man’s two arms were pulled awkwardly behind him with a shirt hanging between his two hands. Now, the shirt prevented me from seeing the handcuffs, but clearly he was being led away in handcuffs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow trying to cover up that fact you are being arrested by draping a shirt over your handcuffs would be as futile as trying to hide our sins from the Lord. Imagine that young man thinking, “Well, I am so glad the neighbors cannot see the handcuffs so they will not think I am being arrested. This t-shirt sure saved the day!  They probably will not even notice that these nice officers are stuffing  me into backseat of their patrol car with my hands behind my back.” Ridiculous, right.

Similarly, Jesus addressed the hypocrisy of the Pharisees in Luke 2 trying to hide their sins from God. These Pharisees tried to make everything look good on the outside, but were inwardly full of sin. But, Jesus could easily see past the outward covering and warned:

Nothing is covered up that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known.  Therefore whatever you have said in the dark shall be heard in the light, and what you have whispered in private rooms shall be proclaimed on the housetops. (Luke 12:2-3).

Your secret sins and my secret sins may be hidden from the neighbors, but God sees them all. Even the ones that never escape our hearts and our minds.

Now, for those who are in Christ Jesus, that is actually good news. All of my sins are forgiven. None of them will be a surprise to God on the day of my judgment. All my sins were nailed to that cross and all my sins are forgiven:

And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross (Colossians 2:13-14).

So, the question is not whether or not God can see your sin. The question is, will you be judged on account of them? Or will you be forgiven despite them because you have repented and put your trust in Jesus Christ for forgiveness?

Comments Off on Who are you fooling? – Luke 12:2

Filed under Judgment

Comments are closed.