My tongue will sing of your word – Psalm 119:171-172

I love the week after Vacation Bible School as my little kids are always wandering around the house (and the neighborhood park and the grocery store) singing the new songs they just learned. One of the songs this year (from the VBS curriculum put out by the great folks at Answers in Genesis) had the following lines according to my kids:

The Word of God is the sharpest blade
Better than any many has ever made
I can overcome with the Word of God on the tip of my tongue
With the Word of God on the tip of my tongue

This lyric and their singing reminded me of Psalm 119.

My lips will pour forth praise, for you teach me your statutes.
My tongue will sing of your word, for all your commandments are right (Psalm 119:171-172).

I only wish my old brain could learn these new songs as fast as my 2 and 4-year old children, but, alas, those days are long past. Still, it is a pleasure to hear their lips pouring forth praises to Jesus and singing about God’s word!

Comments Off on My tongue will sing of your word – Psalm 119:171-172

Filed under Christian Life

Comments are closed.