My 4-year old teacher – Jonah 2:5-6

My 4-year old has just recently begun to grasp the concept of the omnipresence of God (i.e. that God is everywhere). It randomly comes up in his conversations, “When we go to Grandma and Grandpa’s Jesus is there too.”  You can tell that it is a mix of both statement and question. There is a clear awe and wonder in his trying to think about it; mixed with a bit of question because it does not fit with everything else we experience in creation. His awe and wonder is a great reminder to me of the awesomeness of our almighty God.

Thinking about the omnipresence of God reminded me of when the prophet Jonah tried to run from the almighty God, but he could not get away. He began to sink to the bottom of the sea, but God was there too:

The waters closed in over me to take my life; the deep surrounded me; weeds were wrapped about my head at the roots of the mountains. I went down to the land whose bars closed upon me forever; yet you brought up my life from the pit, O LORD my God (Jonah 2:5-6).

God saved Jonah even against Jonah’s desires. Not only did God demonstrate his omnipresence through the events of Jonah’s life, he demonstrated his grace in the life of Jonah and in the thousands of lives in the city of Nineveh. If God had been omnipresent but not gracious, Jonah would have still perished. If God had only been gracious but not omnipresent, Jonah could have escaped and perished.

What a great God. And what a blessing it is to me to be taught of the greatness of God by a 4-year old.

Comments Off on My 4-year old teacher – Jonah 2:5-6

Filed under God

Comments are closed.