Pray for boldness – Ephesians 6:19-20

We just finished our Vacation Bible School for which the memory verses were the well-known lines from Ephesians chapter 6 on taking up the armor of God. As is pretty typical, we stopped at verse 18. I happened to look at those verses today and read past to verses 19 and 20:

and [praying] also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak (Ephesians 6:19-20).

It is amazing to hear Paul ask for prayers that he would boldly proclaim the gospel while he is in chains for proclaiming the gospel. It was Paul’s bold proclamation that got him in chains in the first place. While we may not face imprisonment like Paul, all Christians should pray that we would have the boldness to proclaim the gospel. If Paul needed prayers for that boldness, certainly we need them too.

Comments Off on Pray for boldness – Ephesians 6:19-20

Filed under Evangelism

Comments are closed.