Dental floss for the brain

I think strange things at strange times. Take last night as an example. While flossing my teeth I was reminded how much stuff remains hidden between my teeth even after brushing. (Disgusting, I know. Sorry). Now, if I never flossed I could be blissfully ignorant of these hidden, and rather disgusting, dangers lurking inside.

This made me think of the many Christians whose lack of interest in studying Scripture in-depth is akin to not wanting to floss. A quick, surface level understanding of the faith based upon a 20 minute sermon every other week seems more than fine to them. Maybe read a bit of the four Gospels every once in a while, but examining the rest of the Bible is not important. This immaturity in the faith can presents dangers when trials and tribulations occur. Their blissful ignorance of the faith, of the real Jesus, and of the blessed promises we have in Scripture led them susceptible to all types of spiritual disease. The apostle Paul addressed a similar problem:

But I, brothers, could not address you as spiritual people, but as people of the flesh, as infants in Christ.  I fed you with milk, not solid food, for you were not ready for it. And even now you are not yet ready (1 Corinthians 3:1-2).

These Christians at the church in Corinth had a childish faith; which is vastly different from a child-like faith. They had never progressed beyond a simple understanding, and it was now leading to problems.

So, spend some time today flossing your teeth. And spend some time today studying God’s Word to insure you do not have some false doctrines festering in the recesses of your mind.

 

Comments Off on Dental floss for the brain

Filed under Christian Life

Comments are closed.