Pure words – Psalm 12:6

The words of the LORD are pure words, like silver refined in a furnace on the ground, purified seven times (Psalm 12:6).

Oh how I have missed hearing those pure words on Sunday morning these last two weeks. It is not as if my life has been isolated from God’s Word. Yet, not hearing it read and preached from the pulpit in a Sunday worship service has left me feeling off-kilter. I have read his word, studied His Word, and heard it at Bible camp, in a wedding, and in podcasts, but none of these have satisfied my longing for his Word in the same way.

On a positive note, these two weeks have been a great reminder of a couple important truths. First, it reminds me that my longing for God’s Word is a gift from him. I spent much of my life having no desire to read the Bible or hear it preached. It was God alone who changed my heart, granted me faith, and is growing this desire because:

He who began a good work in [me] will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ (Philippians 1:6).

So, I can thank God for giving me that longing for his pure words. Secondly, it reminds me that Christ built his church for my benefit; that I might be fed by his pure, precious words and be strengthened in the faith. So, God willing, I will be able to worship again this coming Sunday and hear his pure words in that special way.

Comments Off on Pure words – Psalm 12:6

Filed under Church

Comments are closed.