A long weekend with my family

I have not posted for a few days because I had the pleasure of enjoying a long weekend with my family camping up in the mountains of central Idaho. Every year 100+ of my closest family members get together for a long weekend of Bible study, worship, singing, fun, and food. The amazing thing is that every single one of us has been adopted into this family!

He predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will (Ephesians 1:5).

You have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” (Romans 8:15).

While we tend to focus on our biological and earthly relatives as our family, Jesus made it clear that for Christians our true family is rooted in our standing in Christ Jesus and our relation to the Father.

And his mother and his brothers came, and standing outside they sent to him and called him. And a crowd was sitting around him, and they said to him, “Your mother and your brothers are outside, seeking you.” And he answered them, “Who are my mother and my brothers?” And looking about at those who sat around him, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers! For whoever does the will of God, he is my brother and sister and mother” (Mark 3:31-35).

I look forward to the day when I can get together with my other millions of family members and worship our Savior together, forever. And to all my family members who may read this blog but I have not had the pleasure of meeting yet, I look forward to meeting you one day.

I certainly hope and pray that all of my earthly family will join me someday in that heavenly family. Yet, I can still rejoice today that I am part of a heavenly family that will always be together. Praise be to God for adopting me into such a wonderful family.

Comments Off on A long weekend with my family

Filed under Christian Life, Church

Comments are closed.