Preach about Christ or Superman? – Ephesians 3:7-10

If your pastor is preaching about Superman this summer rather than about Jesus, then it is probably time to find a new church home. CNN has reported that Warner Bros. Studio has created a nine page document helping pastors prepare sermon series based upon the new movie. One pastor is quoted in the article as saying:

“When I sat and listened to the movie I actually saw it was the story of Christ, and the love of God was weaved into the story,” said the pastor.

Ummmm. No. Sorry, time to step down from the pulpit. Look, I have not seen the movie, but I am quite confident that Jesus is not a superman from another planet. He is God in flesh. The story of Superman is not the story of Jesus. Pastors are not called to preach about supermen, but about the unsearchable riches of Christ Jesus:

Of this gospel I was made a minister according to the gift of God’s grace, which was given me by the working of his power. To me, though I am the very least of all the saints, this grace was given, to preach to the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ, and to bring to light for everyone what is the plan of the mystery hidden for ages in God who created all things, so that through the church the manifold wisdom of God might now be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly places (Ephesians 3:7-10).

If you see the movie this summer, I hope it is in the theater and not in your church. If it is in your church service, I would recommend heading for the exits as soon as the first clip begins to roll.

Comments Off on Preach about Christ or Superman? – Ephesians 3:7-10

Filed under Church, False Religions

Comments are closed.