How have you loved us? – Malachi 1:1-2

The book of Malachi begins:

The oracle of the word of the LORD to Israel by Malachi. “I have loved you,” says the LORD. But you say, “How have you loved us?” (Malachi 1:1-2).

When reading this I was struck by the absurdity of the question, “How have you loved us?” For the nation of Israel to ask such a question would be the ultimate in spiritual blindness. They alone were the nation selected by God to have his favor bestowed upon them. They were given the Scriptures, given his protection and even given loving discipline by their loving Father.

Unfortunately, I am almost constantly like that in my own relationship with God. I grumble about…well, just about everything at times. Certainly, to the ears of God, that must sound like, “How have you loved me?” I am like the older son in the parable of the prodigal (Luke 15). Forgive me, Lord God.

Comments Off on How have you loved us? – Malachi 1:1-2

Filed under Christian Life

Comments are closed.