The great commission part 2

It seems these days that the great commission has been shortened to the following:

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age. (Matthew 28:18-19, 20b).

However, what Jesus actually said included:

teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you (Matthew 28:20a).

It sure does not seem very loving and tolerant of Jesus to command people to actually do or not do certain things. Well, of course, if we are really disciples (that is, students) of Jesus, we would also try to know not only what he commanded, but also why he commanded them. And, if we actually study the Bible, we might learn to understand how Jesus demonstrates true godly love by often being intolerant.

Thankfully, heaven will be a very intolerant place. I look forward to the day when my sinful nature is completed changed. I would not want to live forever with a god that tolerates my sinfulness. Who will save this miserable wretch from this body of death? God through my Lord Jesus Christ! (Romans 7:24-25).

Comments Off on The great commission part 2

Filed under Christian Life, Church

Comments are closed.