Grumbling against God – Numbers 17:10-13

And the LORD said to Moses, “Put back the staff of Aaron before the testimony, to be kept as a sign for the rebels, that you may make an end of their grumblings against me, lest they die.” Thus did Moses; as the LORD commanded him, so he did. And the people of Israel said to Moses, “Behold, we perish, we are undone, we are all undone. Everyone who comes near, who comes near to the tabernacle of the LORD, shall die. Are we all to perish?”(Numbers 17:10-13).

I read this and am reminded of how thankful I should be. Thankful that I have direct access to the Lord. I do not have to go through an intermediary like the priesthood of the Old Testament. The very God of the universe listens to my prayers. The very God of the universe has made my sinful flesh his dwelling place. Yet, I grumble. If the Israelite were concerned about being consumed by God because of their grumbling, how much more concerned should I be?

While this all reminds me of what a wretched, ungrateful sinner I am, it also reminds me of how great my Savior is. Hallelujah! What a Savior!

Comments Off on Grumbling against God – Numbers 17:10-13

Filed under Christian Life

Comments are closed.