Comforted through their faith – 1 Thessalonians 3:6-7

But now that Timothy has come to us from you, and has brought us the good news of your faith and love and reported that you always remember us kindly and long to see us, as we long to see you—for this reason, brothers, in all our distress and affliction we have been comforted about you through your faith (1 Thessalonians 3:6-7).

A couple of times each year, I get the pleasure of traveling to a tiny little church here in Idaho to worship with them. There are generally less than 30 people there and sometimes less than 20. Yet, it reminds me that God preserves his remnant throughout the world. I am comforted by my visits with them like Paul was comforted by hearing about the faith of the Christians in Thessalonica. Their love of Christ and each other strengthens my faith in Christ and my love for this church.

Like a tsunami, liberalism, apostasy and false doctrine have washed over so many of the large “Christian” denominations and left destruction behind. It is easy for me to get discouraged and feel hopeless about the fate of our world when I see Christ and his church maligned. Then, I see the faithfulness of the individuals in a little Idaho country church and I am renewed. As Jesus said,

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand (John 10:8-29).

Praise God for his sheep throughout the world.

Comments Off on Comforted through their faith – 1 Thessalonians 3:6-7

Filed under Church

Comments are closed.