I know that my Redeemer lives – Job 19:25-27

Yesterday, my beloved pastor opened our service with the following passage from Scripture:

For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last he will stand upon the earth.

For an Easter service, this is obviously a great verse. What blew me away was that this verse is from the book of Job in the Old Testament. And, not only is this an Old Testament verse, but Job is likely the oldest book in the Bible. This was written a couple thousand years before Christ. How cool is that?!! Here is a fuller context of the verse:

For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been thus destroyed, yet in my flesh I shall see God, whom I shall see for myself, and my eyes shall behold, and not another. My heart faints within me! (Job 19:25-27).

People like to argue about inconsistencies within the Bible, but hearing this verse was a reminder of the God-breathe nature of the Bible. The message of salvation is the same from beginning to end. Sure, the revelation became more clear over the years, but the method of salvation has never changed. Only God can redeem his people from their sins. We cannot do it ourselves. Not even a seemingly righteous man like Job.

I know that my Redeemer lives, for He is risen. He is risen, indeed! Alleluia!

Comments Off on I know that my Redeemer lives – Job 19:25-27

Filed under Salvation, Scripture

Comments are closed.