The Wealth of the Wicked – Psalm 17:14

Psalm 17:14 states:

“You fill their womb with treasure; they are satisfied with children, and they leave their abundance to their infants.”

Hard to believe that this passage is about the wicked! Often as Christians it can be frustrating to see the wicked prosper and harder still to reconcile that with the fact that it is God who prospers them. In the next verse David writes,

“As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness; when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.”

We too must be satisfied with knowing God, rather than our material possessions.

2 Comments

Filed under Scripture

2 responses to “The Wealth of the Wicked – Psalm 17:14

  1. It is difficult not to get caught up in a more, bigger, better mentality of acquiring material possessions. Spending time with the Lord in prayer and in His Word keeps our focus on the Lord and His desires for our lives. Blessings!

    • Absolutely. You bring up a critical point about “His desires for our lives.” I often want to assume that my desires are His desires. It can also be hard to accept that His desires for me are perfect even when they feel less than perfect. Which is simply a reminder to trust his Word rather than my feelings.

      And thanks for being the first commenter on my blog!